Shelly's Blog Just another WordPress weblog

October 16, 2005

The Outlander Series

Filed under: Other Stuff — shelly @ 6:27 pm

OK…let’s get this started with a “review” of the Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon!!
Outlander is the first of the series, followed by Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, and The Fiery Cross. The next installment in the series, Breath of Snow and Ashes is newly published and in stores now and, incidentally, at the top of my “must read” list!
Basically this is a time travel/historical romance series. Both genres are favorites of mine! The heroine is Claire Beauchamp Fraser and the hero is Jamie Fraser, a Scottish Laird. The novels, which are long, averagine over 1000 pages each, chronicle their lives, their love and their tragedies. The journey begins prior to the Battle of Culloden, a major turning point in Scottish history and follows our heroes into Colonial America (and probably beyond – I haven’t finished Fiery Cross).
I originally began this series based on the recommendation of a classmate during nursing school. The heroine is a nurse and there are many references to ancient remedies and treatments that are facinating to me as a nurse. It has been quite a journey.
My historical knowlege has been expanded – even though I’ve had to look up a ton of stuff to get the whole story. I have even learned about my own family’s heritage (we have Scot’s blood in us) and even about some of the traditions my family loves (did you know the Bar-B-Que North Carolina is famous for has its roots in the Scottish Highlands?!?!).
Bottomline – I highly recommend this series! I’ve read nearly 5,000 pages and can’t wait to read more!

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment


Powered by WordPress